Skip to content

Hu Jintao is the president of China? I don’t know, Hu Jintao is the president of china?

April 1, 2012

Wait, I said that wrong.

Anyway, today I was at Ta Prohm (the temple from Tomb Raider and Two Brothers) in Siem Reap, Cambodia  and found myself just 2 metres away from the President of the most powerful country of the 21st century (I imagine).

I had already seen a lot of security dotted around outside the temple walls  but then after an hour or so of taking photos of big tree roots in temples and taking photos of tourists taking photos of big tree roots in temples, I found my path blocked by lots of tourists taking photos of lots of security blokes.

Image

Just then one of the tourists started shouting out “Ni Hao Ma? Ni Hao Ma?” and other stuff as well but not being able to speak Chinese I couldn’t tell you what. With her voice ringing loudly through the otherwise peaceful 830 year old Angkorian ruins a man in a white shirt and thin-rimmed glasses began to move through the security cordon and approach the excited crowd. I asked someone nearby who this man was and was given the reply of “The… er… King of China”.

Image

Well, he seemed a lot more smiley than you might think and certainly quite approachable, so what would you do given this opportunity? You’d have to ask a quick question or two surely…wouldn’t you?

  • Excuse me, Mr President?
  • Yes?
  • Are you a fan of the Tomb Raider films?
  • Of course, I am a great admirer of Angelina Jolie and her lovely advocacy work.
  • Brill, thanks President Hu. One more question, if I may?
  • Go on…
  • When China rules the world, will you make me the King of England, please?
  • Hahaha! Of course, why not?

And off went the ‘King’ of China and his entourage.

What a nice man.

Image

No matter how rich and powerful I will inevitably become whilst ruling my presumably elated subjects in the People’s Republic of China’s United Kingdom of England and Wales and the Falklands, I will never forget our first meeting on that wonderfully sunny, Sunday, April 1st 2012.

Hmmm, now, what new law shall I introduce first..?If you can read these words then this thing has been stolen from weavehole.wordpress.com Maybe.

From → Life/Death/Life

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

